Lieutenant-Governor must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a Bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The maximum life of a Legislature is five years.

Salaries and allowances of the Premier, Members of the Executive Council, Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly are fixed according to R.S.Q. 1941, c. 4 as amended by 1-2 Elizabeth II as follows: all Members of Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council receive \$4,000 per annum as salary and \$2,000 by way of allowances; in addition the Premier receives \$10,000 as salary, \$4,000 allowances and \$2,000 for lodging allowance; Ministers with portfolio an additional \$8,000 as salary and \$2,000 allowances; Ministers without portfolio an additional \$3,000 salary and \$2,000 allowances; the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly an additional \$6,000 salary, \$2,000 allowances and \$2,000 for lodging allowance; and the Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council an additional \$5,000 salary and \$2,000 allowances.

18.—Legislatures and Premiers of Quebec 1935-55, the Ministry and Members of the Legislative Council as at May 31, 1955

Legislatures 1935-551

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Nov. 25, 1935 Aug. 17, 1936 Oct. 25, 1939 Aug. 8, 1944 July 28, 1948 July 16, 1952	20th General Assembly. 21st General Assembly. 22nd General Assembly. 23rd General Assembly.	4 5 4 4	Mar. 24, 1936 Oct. 7, 1936 Feb. 20, 1940 Feb. 7, 1945 Jan. 19, 1949 Nov. 12, 1952	June 11, 1936 Sept. 23, 1939 June 29, 1944 June 9, 1948 May 28, 1952

¹ The Ministries from 1935-55 were: 16th Ministry sworn in July 8, 1920 under the leadership of Hon. L. A Taschereau; 17th Ministry sworn in June 11, 1936 under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 18th Ministry sworn in Aug. 24, 1936 under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis; 19th Ministry sworn in Nov. 10, 1939 under the leadership of Hon. A. Godbout; 20th Ministry sworn in Aug. 30, 1944 under the leadership of Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis.

² Life of Legislature not expired at May 31, 1955.

Twentieth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election July 16, 1952: 67 Union Nationale, 22 Liberals, 1 Independent and 2 vacancies.)

Note. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council. Minister of Finance. Minister of Lands and Forests and of Hydraulic Resources. Minister of Health. Minister of Health. Minister of Colonization. Minister without portfolio. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Labour. Minister of Labour. Minister of Game and Fisheries. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Social Welfare and of Youth. Minister of Trange and Commerce. Frovincial Secretary. Minister of Transportation and Communications and Solicitor General Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. Maurice L. Duplessis. Hon. Onésime Gagnon Hon. John S. Bourque Hon. J. H. Albiry Paquette Hon. J. Bégin Hon. Arronio Elie Hon. Antonio Elie Hon. Antonio Talrot Hon. Antonio Talrot Hon. Antonio Talrot Hon. Camille Pouliot Hon. Camille Pouliot Hon. Paul Beaulieu Hon. Paul Beaulieu Hon. One Côté Hon. W. M. Cottingeam Hon. Antonie Rivard Hon. Antonie Rivard Hon. Arthur Leclerc Hon. Arthur Leclerc Hon. Arthur Leclerc Hon. Aufific Labré Hon. Arthur Leclerc Hon. Milfrid Labré Hon. Wilfrid Labré	Aug. 24, 1936 Aug. 24, 1936 July 15, 1953 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 24, 1936 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Sept. 18, 1946 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 June 2, 1954	Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 Aug. 30, 1944 July 15, 1953 Aug. 30, 1944 June 2, 1954 Apr. 12, 1950 Apr. 12, 1950 Apr. 12, 1952 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952 July 23, 1952